In This Section

Public Works Department

The Public Works department provides an assortment of services intended to maintain the health, safety, and welfare of the community, as well as enhance the quality of life, through code enforcement, right-of-way maintenance, and transportation improvements.

The department consists of five major divisions: Engineering, Solid Waste, Stormwater, Streets, and Traffic.

The mission of the Public Works Department includes:

  • Protecting the health of the community through the proper collection and disposal of garbage, debris and yard waste;
  • Enhancing the safety of the community through proper maintenance of roadways, traffic control devices, and pedestrian ways;
  • Protecting the welfare of the community through the development of a public infrastructure capable of accommodating and encouraging future growth and stabilizing existing commercial and residential areas;
  • Maintaining and upgrading the aesthetic quality of the community through urban forestry initiatives and landscaping public places; and
  • Providing environmental stewardship through stormwater and ground water protection initiatives.