In this section

Contact us

Community Development
c/o Johnson City Housing Authority
901 Pardee St.
Johnson City, TN 37601
(423) 232-4784

Adam Williams, Community Development Inspections Manager
(423) 232-4784 ext. 306

Community Development

Community Development coordinates federal, state, and local resources to implement housing rehabilitation, homeownership, homeless shelters, and other housing development activities. In addition, the division also funds fair housing activities; park expansion and development in low and moderate income neighborhoods; economic development activities and provides assistance with community facility improvements for the handicapped; as well as, community support services for the at-risk population.

The Community Development Program is guided by a five year strategy based upon a community needs assessment and a series of one year plans developed by the Community Development staff with the assistance and input of a fourteen member Housing and Community Development Advisory Board. The annual plan outlines the programs that will be provided to help meet the needs that have been identified and the financial resources that will be committed to implement the programs. In addition to the annual plan, the local program must submit an annual performance report to the community and to the Department of Housing and Urban Development outlining the accomplishments of the program each fiscal year.

Johnson City Neighborhood Partnerships Program

The Johnson City Neighborhood Partnerships Program, which has been supported by a U.S. Justice Department grant for the past four years is transitioning to a local program due to federal funding for all programs across the country ending on March 31, 2012. This innovative neighborhood empowerment program works through four program areas: Law Enforcement, Community Policing, Prevention Intervention and Treatment and Neighborhood Restoration. The program currently operates and is under the direction of the City’s Police Department and the Development Services Department’s Community Development Division.

The program is coordinated by a twenty-five member community steering committee that includes at least a third of their members being residents from the neighborhoods that are participating in the program. Currently the following neighborhoods are included in the program: West Davis Park, Carnegie, Mountain Home, Pine Grove, Southside, and the Keystone/King Springs neighborhood.